About Us

Who We Are

Association of Biotechnology Led Enterprises - ABLE is a not-for-profit pan-India forum that represents the Indian Biotechnology Sector. It was launched in April 2003, after industry leaders felt a need to form an exclusive forum to represent the Indian Biotechnology Sector.

ABLE has over 400 members from all across India representing all verticals of the sector like Agribiotech, Bio-pharma, Industrial biotech, Bioinformatics, Investment banks and Venture Capital firms, leading Research and Academic Institutes and Law Firms and Equipment Suppliers.

The primary focus of ABLE is to accelerate the pace of growth of the Biotechnology sector in India, through partnering with the Government in their biotechnology initiatives to deliver optimal policies and create a positive regulatory environment, encouraging entrepreneurship and investment in the sector, providing a platform for domestic and overseas companies to explore collaboration and partnerships, forging stronger links between academia and industry and showcasing the strengths of the Indian biotech sector.

ABLE Business Council, that comprises of all past presidents of the organization, has been set up to provide impetus to the growth of the Biotech business ecosystem to leverage their multi-sectoral expertise.

ABLE thus catalyses a symbiotic interface between the industry, the government, academic and research institutes and domestic and international investors.

Executive Council

Dr Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw

Hon. Non-Executive Chairperson, ABLE

Mr G S Krishnan

Hon. President, ABLE

Dr Anand Anandkumar

Hon. Vice President & Treasurer, ABLE

Mr Ravi Bhola

Hon. General Secretary

Dr Kavitha Iyer Rodrigues

Member, ABLE EC

Dr Shama Bhat

Member, ABLE EC

Dr Shriram Ragavan

Member, ABLE EC

Mr Venkat Kamalakar Bundla

Member, ABLE EC

Dr Ezhil Subbian

Member, ABLE EC

ABLE Business Council

Dr Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw

Hon. Non-Executive Chairperson, ABLE

Dr PM Murali

President, ABLE Business Council

Dr KK Narayanan

Member, ABLE Business Council

Dr Vijay Chandru

Member, ABLE Business Council

Mr Shrikumar Suryanarayan

Member, ABLE Business Council

Patron Gold Members


Mr Narayanan Suresh

Chief Operating Officer

Dr Guljit Chaudhri

Senior Adviser (Pharma)

Srinivas Rao Chandan

Senior Consultant

Ms Pavana Praveen

Manager - Business Development and Operations

Ms Indrila Sengupta

Asst. Manager - Business Development and Operations